Home News Facebook new security check asks users to upload a photo of them

Facebook new security check asks users to upload a photo of them

by Unallocated Author

Facebook is testing a new captcha system that will soon require users to upload a clear photo of their face so it can authenticate and allow access to their account in case it is locked due to suspicious activity.

The photo needs to clearly show your face in order to access the Facebook account. The social media giant said that it will remove the photo from its servers quickly after, though it’s possible that you may be locked out of your account until it’s confirmed.

According to a screenshot of the new security check shared on Twitter and confirmed by Facebook, the warning message says: “Please upload a photo of yourself that clearly shows your face. We’ll check it and then permanently delete it from our servers.”

According to many users who have seen the warning message and refused to upload their photo; Facebook locked their account, while other users who uploaded their photos but was considered “invalid” by the company also had their social media accounts locked.

Facebook said that the new security test is to “help us catch suspicious activity at various points of interaction on the site, including creating an account, sending Friend requests, setting up ads payments, and creating or editing ads.”

You may also like

Latest Hacking News