Home Cyber Security News Twitter Launches Safety Mode To Block Abusive Comments

Twitter Launches Safety Mode To Block Abusive Comments

by Abeerah Hashim
Twitter Safety Mode

Twitter has recently announced a new feature dubbed ‘Safety Mode’ to block abusive users. Currently available in beta-mode, this feature will let users block accounts posting abusive comments. With this move, Twitter aims at preventing online harassment on the platform.

Twitter Introduces Safety Mode

The social media platform Twitter is known for advocating freedom of speech. However, many users also exploit this leniency for bashing others.

Therefore, the platform has announced a new feature, “Safety Mode,” to prevent abusive comments.

Elaborating on this move in a blog post, Jarrod Doherty, Sr. Product Manager at Twitter, stated that this step aims at providing a “more comfortable” experience to the users.

Unwelcome Tweets and noise can get in the way of conversations on Twitter, so we’re introducing Safety Mode, a new feature that aims to reduce disruptive interactions.

In brief, Safety Mode will be available as a separate option under the “Privacy and safety” menu. Enabling this feature lets Twitter monitor potentially negative engagement, thereby blocking abusive users temporarily. As described,

Safety Mode is a feature that temporarily blocks accounts for seven days for using potentially harmful language — such as insults or hateful remarks — or sending repetitive and uninvited replies or mentions.

To assess this factor, Twitter will consider the relationship between the Tweet, the author, and the replier.

This will potentially not affect the users’ followers or frequently-interacted accounts.

Since Twitter is testing this feature, it presently gives more control to the users regarding how it works for them.

You can find information about the Tweets flagged through Safety Mode and view the details of temporarily blocked accounts at any time. Before each Safety Mode period ends, you’ll receive a notification recapping this information. We won’t always get this right and may make mistakes, so Safety Mode autoblocks can be seen and undone at any time in your Settings.

The feature will initially roll out to limited beta-testers (with English language-based accounts) using Twitter on iOS, Android, and Twitter.com.

You may also like

1 comment

Tom September 13, 2021 - 7:30 am

you know I’m on top of the situation these boys were sending compressed bombs using the emails to execute Does
But I’m going to deafe them

Comments are closed.

Latest Hacking News