Home Cyber Security News Google Play Sign-In Feature Allows Spying On Other Users’ Location

Google Play Sign-In Feature Allows Spying On Other Users’ Location

by Abeerah Hashim
Google Play Sign-in location spying

A security researcher has found how one can exploit the Google Play sign-in feature for spying on another user’s location. While this isn’t actually a security flaw, an adversary may abuse it for covert spying without needing to install stalkerware.

Google Play Sign-In Exploit For Spying…

A security researcher from Malwarebytes Labs has discovered how an adversary can abuse Google Play sign-in for spying. All it takes is to log in to Google Play on the target user’s device. It then requires no spyware installation to track the user’s real-time location.

As elaborated in a blog post, Pieter Arntz incidentally found this issue when he logged in on his wife’s phone via his own account. He then missed to sign out, and hence, started noticing the appearance of unvisited locations on his Google Maps Timeline. He found that those locations actually appeared from his wife’s phone.

Initially, the researcher attributed this to the fact that he left his account sign-in on his wife’s device. However, things seemed weird when he noticed the same tracking even after signing out.

Eventually, he discovered that Google had linked his account to his wife’s device that remained unremoved even after logging out.

Moreover, while the researcher received security alerts upon signing in to the new device, his wife didn’t get any notification. That means the target user won’t even receive a notification if a new account links to the device.

The stealth tracking still worked even when the researcher didn’t enable Google Time on his wife’s phone. The only way to stop such tracking was to remove the linked account manually from the other device.

…Is Basically A Design Feature

While this situation may lead to stalking in real-time, the issue isn’t actually a security problem. Rather it’s more of a design feature meant for legit use. Nonetheless, a potential stalker may find it the least detectable method to stalk someone, particularly if the target user isn’t a tech-freak. As Arntz explained,

This situation is not a form of stalkerware, and it does not, by design, attempt to work around a user’s consent. This is more aptly a design and user experience flaw. However, it is still a flaw that can and should be called out, because the end result can still provide location tracking of another person’s device.

Why This Google Play Sign-In Is A Spying Problem

Notably, what made this feature a potential spyware substitute was the lack of any prominent indication for the target user. Unless the target user taps on the small icon bearing the initials of the account signed in on Google Play, it remains difficult to spot that another account has been linked to the device.

This could even become more of a spying tool if an adversary attempts to link an account that would show the same initial.

For instance, two accounts with usernames beginning with ‘A’ would only show ‘A’ when logged in. (The following screenshots from two of my devices are an example.)

Image: Latest Hacking News

That means unless the target user vigilantly monitors the linked account by tapping the initial, the spying account would remain linked.

According to the researcher, this flaw might not be useful for random cybercriminals. However, it can become a vector in situations of domestic abuse.

In fact, this might become a more viable means of spying since it requires no installation of third-party apps. That’s because a simple account link-up won’t show any identifiable symptoms on the device, such as excessive battery drainage, data usage, device heating up, or others.

So, unless Google devises a fix for it, users must remain careful about this problem. Users can check their devices for the linked accounts via Settings > Accounts (or Accounts and Backups). If any unsolicited accounts appear linked, immediately remove them.

You may also like

Latest Hacking News

Privacy Preference Center

Necessary

The __cfduid cookie is used to identify individual clients behind a shared IP address and apply security settings on a per-client basis.

cookie_notice_accepted and gdpr[allowed_cookies] are used to identify the choices made from the user regarding cookie consent.

For example, if a visitor is in a coffee shop where there may be several infected machines, but the specific visitor's machine is trusted (for example, because they completed a challenge within your Challenge Passage period), the cookie allows Cloudflare to identify that client and not challenge them again. It does not correspond to any user ID in your web application, and does not store any personally identifiable information.

__cfduid, cookie_notice_accepted, gdpr[allowed_cookies]

Advertising

DoubleClick by Google refers to the DoubleClick Digital Marketing platform which is a separate division within Google. This is Google’s most advanced advertising tools set, which includes five interconnected platform components.

DoubleClick Campaign Manager: the ad-serving platform, called an Ad Server, that delivers ads to your customers and measures all online advertising, even across screens and channels.

DoubleClick Bid Manager – the programmatic bidding platform for bidding on high-quality ad inventory from more than 47 ad marketplaces including Google Display Network.

DoubleClick Ad Exchange: the world’s largest ad marketplace for purchasing display, video, mobile, Search and even Facebook inventory.

DoubleClick Search: is more powerful than AdWords and used for purchasing search ads across Google, Yahoo, and Bing.

DoubleClick Creative Solutions: for designing, delivering and measuring rich media (video) ads, interactive and expandable ads.

doubleclick

Analytics

The _ga is asssociated with Google Universal Analytics - which is a significant update to Google's more commonly used analytics service. This cookie is used to distinguish unique users by assigning a randomly generated number as a client identifier. It is included in each page request in a site and used to calculate visitor, session and campaign data for the sites analytics reports. By default it is set to expire after 2 years, although this is customisable by website owners.

The _gat global object is used to create and retrieve tracker objects, from which all other methods are invoked. Therefore the methods in this list should be run only off a tracker object created using the _gat global variable. All other methods should be called using the _gaq global object for asynchronous tracking.

_gid works as a user navigates between web pages, they can use the gtag.js tagging library to record information about the page the user has seen (for example, the page's URL) in Google Analytics. The gtag.js tagging library uses HTTP Cookies to "remember" the user's previous interactions with the web pages.

_ga, _gat, _gid